Print Shortlink

Recommended Speakers

I am sometimes invited to give lectures, but I usually have to say no simply due to lack of time. In case it is useful, below is a list of speakers who I have seen lecture and who I think are good (i.e., interesting and entertaining). I think that they are appropriate for a wide range of general audiences, but please contact them directly if you want to know if they are appropriate for your audience.

Mark Lewney

A physicist and winner of the UK Fame Lab competition in 2005.
CONTACT: mark.lewney@patent.gov.uk and 07759-375680
WEBSITE: http://www.doctorlewney.com

Enigma Project

The Enigma Project presents lectures and workshops and codes and codebreaking, with the added bonus of demonsrating a real Enigma machine.
CONTACT: mmp@maths.cam.ac.uk and 01223 766839
WEBSITE: http://mmp.maths.org/projects/enigma.html

Colin Wright

I never tire of watching Colin’s talk about the mathematics of juggling. He is a great juggler and a great lecturer.
CONTACT: website@solipsys.co.uk
WEBSITE: http://www.solipsys.co.uk/new/JugglingTalk.html?ColinWright

Jonathan Hare

Well known from his appearances on BBC2’s Rough Science, Jonathan is also a great lecturer.
CONTACT: J.P.Hare@Sussex.ac.uk
WEBSITE: http://www.creative-science.org.uk/

Mark Miodownik

A material scientist at King’s College College and 2010 Royal Institution Christmas lecturer.
CONTACT: mark.miodownik@kcl.ac.uk
WEBSITE: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/materials/mam/

Emma King

A PhD cosmologist who gives talks across the country.
CONTACT: emma@emmajking.co.im
WEBSITE: http://emmajking.co.uk/

Matt Parker

Matt studied mathematics and physics in Australia before training to be a teacher and working in both Australia and the UK. Matt develops and delivers highly engaging mathematics activities.
CONTACT: sirmattparker@gmail.com
WEBSITE: http://www.rigb.org/showContent/00000002557

Rob Eastaway

Excellent and experienced speaker on a whole range of maths subjects.
CONTACT: Rob@eastaway.demon.co.uk
WEBSITE: http://www.robeastaway.com/speaking.html

Tom Whyntie

Particle physicist at CERN and winner of Famelab.
CONTACT: twhyntie@gmail.com
WEBSITE: http://www.hep.ph.ic.ac.uk/~twhyntie/

Martin S. Taylor

I have seen Martin speak to adult audiences about the psychology of hypnosis. He also speaks to schools.
CONTACT: lecturer@hypnotism.co.uk
WEBSITE: www.hypnotism.co.uk